STP (Her)story


Sigma Theta Psi’s Founding 

Our Founding Mothers created Sigma Theta Psi Sorority on November 13th, 1991 at San Jose State University. These eighteen visionary women came together to fill a void of multicultural awareness on their campus. They sought to create a sisterhood that would embrace and celebrate cultural diversity, and that was rooted in the shared principles of honesty, loyalty, respect, open-mindedness, leadership, and academic excellence.


Founding Mothers

  • Lourdes Andrade
  • Isabel Arias
  • Blanca Del a Torre
  • Beatrice Gómez
  • Maria González
  • Carmen Guzmán
  • Laura Cruz-Hernandez
  • Tammy Loredo
  • Laura Martínez
  • Elizabeth Morán
  • Karina Murcia
  • Ruby Nieto
  • Agustina Pedroza
  • Lupe Pedroza
  • Shemar Pierce
  • Cecilia Ramos
  • Guadalupe Rojas
  • Liz Vásquez


National Chapters

  • Founding: San Jose State University
  • Alpha: San Diego State University
  • Beta: University of Southern California
  • Gamma: Long Beach, CA
  • Delta: Stanford University
  • Epsilon: Los Angeles, CA
  • Zeta: California State University, Monterey Bay
  • Eta: University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Theta: California State University, Sacramento
  • Iota: University of San Diego
  • Kappa: University of California, Santa Barbra
  • Lambda: California State University, Fresno
  • Mu: Merced, CA
  • Nu: University of California, Merced

Visit our national website